Discover

The F.X. Mayr Motion – Part II.
Jun 16, 2020
F.X. Mayr

The F.X. Mayr Motion – Part II.

By Olaf Schulz-Lobeck

In Part I of the F.X. Mayr Motion, I talked about recent human evolutionary processes and the fact that our biology will never stand still. In other words, nature can press a “reset” button, but it takes time.

In Part II, I’ll talk about how human species change, even in a shorter evolutionary window. This global societal phenomenon has a huge impact on our health, well-being, and performance.

To support people thriving successfully in modern times via good health, it is essential to understand how the last century impacted us.  A lot happened!

Taller, Fatter, Older: How Humans Have Changed in 100 Year

One hundred years is too short for an evolutionary selection process via genetic change transformations, so we must understand that changes within this period of time are “simply the developmental responses of organisms to changed conditions.

Stephen Stearns, a professor of ecology and evolutionary biology at Yale University, highlights that evolution has shaped these developmental programs that respond flexibly to environmental changes. And though it may seem that natural selection does not affect humans the way it did thousands of years ago, such evolutionary mechanisms still play a role in shaping humans as a species.

Humans are getting taller, they are also fatter than ever and live longer than at any time in history.

(Some) People Have Grown Taller

A recent British study, published by the Institute for the study of Labor (IZA) in Bonn, Germany, showed that men in the United Kingdom have grown by 4 inches (10.16 cm) on average since the turn of the 20th century.

In the study of British recruits, the average high of British men, who had an average age of 20, was about 168 cm at the turn of the century, whereas now they stand on average at about 178 cm. The increase can be attributed to imporved nutrition, health services, and hygiene, said the reserachers of the University of Essex in Colchester (UK).

And even in some of those countries where the average high has been rising, the increase has not been uniform. For instance, people from former East Germany are still catching up height-wise with former West Germans after years of communist rule, said Barry Bogin, a professor of biological anthropology at Loughborough University (UK). And in some non-Western countries that have been plagued by war, disease, and other serious problems, average high has decreased at one point in time.

Another example was a decline in the mean height among blacks in South Africa between the end of the 19th century and 1970. Barry Bogin emphasized this phenomenon in one of his studies published in the Nestle Nutrition Institute workshop series in 2013. He explained that the decline was likely related to the worsening of socio-economic conditions before and during apartheid.

This example shows the power of the generation-after-generation effect. If something bad happened to your mother, it can be passed to you and your children. It takes between three to five generations to overcome just one generation of starvation or an epidemic illness. Taking China as an example where still these days eating meat, mostly on a daily base, is a sign of prosperity and “吃饭·了吗” (have you eaten) a common greeting from the time of starvation.

People Are Getting Fat and Sick

  • Globally, there are more than 1 billion overweight adults, and at least 300 million of them are “clinically obese,” according to the WHO.
  • Obesity and excess weight pose a major risk for chronic diseases, including type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, hypertension, strokes, and certain forms of cancer.

The key causes are increased consumption of energy-dense foods that are high in saturated fats and sugars and reduced physical activity

This rising epidemic reflects the profound changes in society and behavioral patterns of communities over recent decades. While genes are important in determining a person’s susceptibility to weight gain, energy balance is determined by calorie intake and physical activity. Factors such as societal changes and worldwide nutrition transition are driving the obesity epidemic. Economic growth, modernization, urbanization, and globalization of food markets are just some of the forces thought to underline the epidemic.

As incomes rise and populations become more urban, diets have changed. Food high in complex carbohydrates have replaced more varied diets with a higher proportion of fats, saturated fats, and sugar. At the same time, large shifts toward less physically demanding work have been observed worldwide. Moves toward less physical activity are also found in the increasing use of automated transport, technology in the home, and more passive hobbies.

At F.X. Mayr, we are observing a fundamental change caused by the demands of our performance-driven society since the 21st century. Wealthy people, who in the past were likely overweight due to not having to physically work as hard, are getting slimmer, more active, and healthier. In contrast, poorer people, who in the past were slimmer due to doing more physical work, are getting fatter and less healthy. Reasons can be traced to less access to education, less physical work, the oversupply of cheap, readymade products, cheap and fast food, and a culture of 24/7 food availability.

Longevity And Its Bittersweet Consequences

Humans are now living longer than ever before.

Although factors such as significant advances in medicine, better sanitation, and access to clean water have greatly reduced mortality rates from infectious disease, the death from degenerative diseases such as Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, heart diseases, and cancer are on the rise. In other words, people are living longer and dying from different diseases than they did in the past.

Access to healthcare is a very big factor. For older people, given they are more prone to illness than young people, being able to see the doctor is very important. This means being able to afford visits to the doctor and being able to actually get into the doctor’s office.

Another substantial factor in determining lifespan is family or community. Regular contact with loved ones is a huge plus in extending people’s lives. If someone falls or has a health crisis, they’re more likely to be found in time if they have people around them. And, perhaps a bit more sweetly, people just tend to have better health if they’re socializing with people. Why this is true is up for debate, but lots of studies support the basic idea. One study from John Hopkins Medicine even argues that younger people who assist older people also see some health benefits.

In what might be the biggest placebo effect of them all, having a sense of purpose is a big plus. Having some goals and responsibilities drives a lot of people to live years longer than people who feel lost or unimportant. This might be a career goal or a hobby, or even taking care of a pet. The big thing is that in countries with high life expectancy, old people are more likely to feel engaged. This can be a cultural difference, or it can be geographical. Old people are more likely to do things if they can physically get around, for example.

So, What Comes Next For Us?

“There is some fear out there that an esoteric cabal of scientists in white coats is going to take over the future of evolution with genetic engineering,” according to Professor Stearns. “Whether we want to or not, we have already changed our future course of evolution, and it is not being done by some small group of people. Is it being done as a byproduct of thousands of daily decisions that are implemented with technology and culture.”

This culture of medicine, technology, media, and transportation has become such a strong force in human evolution. We really don’t know how it all will impact us and what comes next!

But we can prepare ourselves. We can embrace the change and be mindful of how little changes can make big differences to our health and well-being.

探索玛雅

玛雅医学运动 -第二部分
Jun 16, 2020
本慧玛雅

玛雅医学运动 -第二部分

By Olaf Schulz-Lobeck

在本慧玛雅运动的第一部分中,我谈到了有关于人类最近的进化进程和我们的生物永远不会停止不变这样的事实。换句话说,自然可以按下重启键,但是这个过程需要时间。

那么在第二部分,我将会谈论人类是如何变化的,即使是在一个更短的进化时间窗口。这一个全球性的社会现象对我们的健康,养生和表现都有产生了巨大的影响。

为了通过良好的健康来支持现代人的更好的发展,了解上个世纪对我们的影响是非常重要的。因为这个过程中已经发生了非常大的变化!

人类变得更高,更胖,也更老:人类在过去100年是如何变化的

一百年对于通过基因变化转化的进化选择过程来说太短了,所以我们必须理解在这段时间内的变化“仅仅是生物体对变化条件的发展反应”

耶鲁大学生态学和进化生物学教授史蒂芬·斯特恩斯(Stephen Stearns)强调,进化塑造了这些对环境变化作出灵活反应的发展项目。尽管看起来自然选择并没有像几千年前那样影响人类,但这种进化机制仍然在把人类作为一个物种进行塑造中发挥了重要作用。

人类正变得越来越高,越来越胖,寿命也比历史上任何时候都更长。

有些人长高了

一份由德国波恩最新发表的针对英国人的研究显示,自20世纪初以来,英国男性平均增长了4英寸(即10.16厘米)。

在对英国新兵的研究中,在本世纪初的时候,平均年龄20岁的英国男性平均身高约为168厘米,而现在他们平均身高约为178厘米。英国科尔切斯特 埃塞克斯大学的研究人员说,这一增长可归因于营养、卫生服务和卫生的改善。

即使在一些平均身高一直在上升的国家,增长也并不一致。比如,英国拉夫堡大学生物人类学教授巴里•博金表示,经过多年的共产主义统治,来自前东德的人仍在追赶前西德人。而在一些饱受战争、疾病以及其他一些严重问题困扰的非西方国家,平均身高曾一度下降。

另一个例子是19世纪末至1970年期间,南非黑人平均身高的下降。巴里•博金教授在2013年雀巢营养研究所系列研讨会上发表的一项研究中强调了这一现象。他解释说,这种下降可能与种族隔离之前和期间的社会经济状况恶化有关。

这个例子显示了一代又一代的效果。如果你母亲出了什么不好的事,它会转嫁给你和你的孩子。只有三到五代人才能克服一代人的饥饿或流行病。以中国为例,如今基本上仍然把每天吃肉作为繁荣的标志,而“你吃饭了吗”则是饥荒时期一种普遍的问候语。

人们正变得越来越胖和越来越频繁生病

这种不断上升的流行病反映了近几十年来社会和社区行为模式的深刻变化。尽管基因在决定一个人是否是容易增加体重的体质方面很重要,但能量平衡是由热量摄入和体力活动决定的。

随着收入的增加和人口的城市化,饮食也发生了变化。富含复合碳水化合物的食物已经取代了更多有着较高比例的脂肪、饱和脂肪和糖的种类的饮食。与此同时,在全世界大家都关注到了,我们正在转向体力要求较低的工作的巨大转变。向更少的体力活动的转变我们也可以在人们越来越多地使用自动化交通工具、家庭技术和更多的消极爱好中发现。

在本慧玛雅,我们观察到自21世纪以来由我们的绩效驱动型社会的需求所引起的根本性的变化。过去,由于不必像以前那样努力工作,富人可能会超重,现在他们变得更苗条、更活跃、更健康。相比之下,过去由于多做体力劳动而变得苗条的穷人,现在变得越来越胖,身体也越来越不健康。究其原因,可以被追究为更少的受教育机会、更少的体力劳动、廉价的现成产品和廉价快餐的过度供应,以及一周7天,一天24小时食物供应的文化。

长寿及其苦乐参半的后果

人类现在比以往都要活得更久

尽管医学上的重大进步、卫生条件的改善和获得清洁饮水等因素大大降低了传染病的死亡率,但老年痴呆症、帕金森氏症、心脏病和癌症等退行性疾病的死亡率却在上升。换句话说,人们比过去活得更久,但是死于比以往更多不同的疾病。

获得医疗护理是一个非常重要的因素。对于老年人来说,考虑到他们比年轻人更容易生病,能够看医生是非常重要的。这意味着能够负担得起看医生的费用,能够真正进入医生的办公室。

决定寿命的另一个重要因素是家庭或社区。与所爱的人经常接触对延长人们的寿命是一个巨大的好处。如果有人跌倒或有健康危机,如果身边有人,他们更有可能被及时发现。而且,也许更好的一点,如果人们与其他人进行社交,他们的健康状况往往会更好。为什么这是真的有待讨论,但许多研究支持这一基本观点。约翰·霍普金斯医学院的一项研究甚至认为,帮助老年人的年轻人也看到了一些健康益处。

在所有的安慰剂效应中,有目标感是一个很大的优势。有目标和责任会驱使很多人比那些感到失落或不重要的人活得更久。这可以是一个职业目标或爱好,甚至照顾宠物。重要的是,在预期寿命高的国家,老年人更有可能感到投入。这可能是一种文化差异,也可能是地理差异。比如,如果老年人身体能够走动,就更有可能做事。

那么,接下来我们要做什么?

“有人担心,一个由穿着白大褂的科学家组成的神秘团体将用基因工程接管进化的未来。据斯特恩斯教授说。“不管我们愿不愿意,我们已经改变了我们未来的进化历程,这不是由一小群人所做的。它是作为数千项日常决策的副产品来完成的,这些决策是通过技术和文化来实现的。”

这种医学、技术、媒体和交通的文化已经成为人类进化的强大力量。我们真的不知道这一切会对我们产生怎样的影响,以及接下来会发生什么!

但我们可以做好准备。我们可以接受变化,并注意到微小的变化会对我们的健康和幸福产生很大的影响。