Discover

The F.X. Mayr Motion – Part I.
Mar 23, 2020
F.X. Mayr

The F.X. Mayr Motion – Part I.

By Olaf Schulz-Lobeck

Although the new decade has just started, negative events such as the coronavirus have already started unfolding all over the world. Many people are afraid of losing their sense of normality and continuity.

Is this all bad?

No, but in times like these, uncertainties create fear. And fear is a great breeding ground for extremism. Did our grandfathers and grandmothers experience similar feelings during the first industrial revolution, which experts equate with the impact of the fourth industrial revolution or “digitization”?

Change, not one of our strong suits as humans, is mostly accompanied by pain (physical, mental). To grow, we must leave our comfort zone. The current coronavirus is a good example. It’s in the process of changing the world as we knew it up till the end of 2019.

Unfortunately, societies tend to change fundamentally not because of some kind of miracle pill, but because of humanitarian catastrophes that have forced some kind of transformation. Progress is a mind game. Whether we accept change depends on our inner willingness.

At F.X. Mayr, we support people thriving successfully in modern times via good health!

To better understand the complexity of “good health” and the effects on our body, mind, and soul, I want to take a quick look at how humans have changed over time, our own evolution process, which is part one of the F.X. Mayr Motion.

F.X. Mayr Motion is a modern sustainable lifestyle movement that supports the individual and his surroundings in the pursuit of health, well-being, performance, and joy. Austrian Mayr Medicine, with over a 100-year track record, is at the heart of this movement. And in 2016, Mayr Medicine came to  China. The core modules include:

Homo sapiens are very different than Australopithecus afarensis, an early hominin that lived around 2.9 million years ago. But it is also true that we are different compared to members of our same species. In the future, humans will likely be very different from what we think of as humans today. What we eat, how we use our bodies, and how we choose to have kids are just some of the many factors that could cause the human body to change over time.

Let me show you three examples of recent changes to the human body. In evolutionary terms, “recent” considers that Homo sapiens were around for 200,000 years on earth and that the earth is nearly 4.5 billion years old.

We are cooling down!

This substantive and continuing shift in body temperature—a marker for metabolic rate—provides a framework for understanding changes in human health and longevity over 157 years.

Julie Parsonnet, a study senior author and professor of medicine at Stanford University, highlights that this cooling down trend is likely linked to a population-wide decline in inflammation and improved standards of living. Many of the infectious diseases that were common in the 19th century would have caused chronic inflammation, which in turn burns calories and increases a person’s metabolic rate, upping their internal temperature.

Living comfortably indoors may also have profoundly impacted humans. Unlike our ancestors, “we don’t have to work terribly hard to be at physiologically neutral temperatures that don’t tax our metabolism,” according to Parsonnet. The shift appears to mean that we need about 150 fewer calories per day to maintain our basic metabolic needs than we did in the past.

But why do we eat more?
(Please see the article: Food – the new body intoxification?)

Humans are not immune to the effects of natural selection. Many of the same pressures that we have faced throughout the history of the human race, like pathogens (bacterium, virus, or other microorganisms that can cause disease) see The Chinese Coronavirus is not the Zombie Apocalypse, still exist and threaten our health today. But our environment has changed dramatically—and that has to have an impact.

Transitions in how we live our lives, such as going from nomadic herder to farmer, then from farmer to industrial worker, often drive these genetic adaptations.

Joshua Akey, a professor at Princeton University, highlights the following two examples:

  1. A recent positive selection is FADS2, an important dietary gene. Different versions of this gene are adaptive in different populations, depending on whether or not they have more meat or plant-based diets. In 2016, scientists discovered that over generations, eating vegetarian diets in India shows a specific mutation of this gene allowing the people to efficiently process omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids from non-meat sources, converting them into compounds essential for brain health.
  2. At the same time, the genes that control lactose tolerance are also increasing. Several thousand years ago, the enzyme that helps people drink milk without getting sick turned off when people reached adulthood. But later, gene mutations that sprung up around the world during a time period of between 2,000 to 20,000 years ago have helped people tolerate dairy well into their adulthood. Researchers estimate that, in East Africa, that genetic change happened as recently as 3,000 years ago, as raising cattle became a larger part of human life.

Our bones are becoming lighter!

Compared to other hominis, human bones are weaker and less dense. In a 2015 study,  scientific research hypothesized that Homo sapiens’ bones started to weaken around 12,000 years ago, around the time that people started farming more. With settled farming, diets changed, physical activity changed, and, in turn, our skeletons became lighter and more fragile.

In a 2014 study scientific research also determined that our skeletons have become much lighter since the rise of agriculture. They argue that the reduction in physical activity, rather than the change of diet, is caused by the degradation in human bone strength. The trend is likely to continue. We are moving less now than ever, the researchers emphasize.

“It’s only in the last 50 to 100 years that we’ve been so dangerously sedentary,” explained co-author Colin Shaw, a researcher at the University of Cambridge. “Sitting in a car or in front of a desk is not what we have evolved to do.”

Humans have the capacity to be as strong as an orangutan, Shaw and his team say. But we are not because we don’t challenge our bones. Only time will tell if our bones will change again to enable us to challenge their strength in the future.

Further changes will happen to our bodies. The only question is what will lead this process? Do humans have the time and passion to be part of the natural evolutionary process or do we need new technologies like gene editing to accelerate it?

The “good” thing is that we don’t know everything! But we do know that our biology never stands still.

探索玛雅

玛雅医学运动 -第一部分
Mar 23, 2020
本慧玛雅

玛雅医学运动 -第一部分

作者:Olaf Schulz Lobeck

尽管新的十年才刚刚开启,但是像新冠病毒这样的负面事件已经在全世界铺展开。许多人害怕会失去他们的常态感和延续性。

这一切都是坏事吗?

不会,但是像处于这样的时代,不确定性会制造恐惧。而恐惧是极端主义滋养地。你们的爷爷奶奶辈们是否经历了同第一次工业革命时期类似的经历呢,专家们把它和第四次工业革命或者数字化所带来的影响划等号。

变化并不是人类的强项之一,通常伴随着痛苦(身体上和心理上的)。为了发展,我们必须离开舒适区。当下的新冠病毒就是一个很好的例证。它正在改变世界,而我们直到2019年末才知道。

不幸地是,社会发生根本性的改变并不是因为有种奇迹药丸,而是由于人道主义灾难迫使某种变革。社会进步是一个心理游戏。我们是否接受变化取决于我们内心的意愿。

在本慧玛雅,我们通过为人们提供良好的健康而支持他们在现代社会取得成功。

为了更好的理解良好健康的复杂性,以及对我们的身体,大脑,和心灵的影响,我想可以快速的来看一下人们如何随着时间而改变的,我们自己的革命性的进程,是本慧玛雅运动的第一部分。

本慧玛雅运动是一种现代的可持续生活方式的运动,支持个人及其周围的人追求健康,幸福,快乐。奥地利玛雅医学,有着一百多年的历史记录,是这个运动的核心。在2016年的时候,玛雅医学来到了中国。

其核心模块包括玛雅度假中心,玛雅之屋,玛雅社区和玛雅家庭。

现代智人和生活在290万年前的非洲古猿有着很大的不同。我们也确实和我们相同的物种有着很大的不同。将来,人类很可能和我们今天所认为的人类有着非常大的不同。我们吃什么,我们如何利用我们的身体,我们如何选择生孩子这些只是导致我们身体发生变化的众多因素中的其中几个因素而已。

让我举三个最近的人类身体发生变化的例子。从进化的角度来看,”最近”认为地球上的智人存在于大约20万年左右而地球已经将近45亿岁了。

我们正在降温!

这种本质上的和持续性的体温的变化-一种新城代谢率的标志-为理解人类健康的变化和人类寿命将超过157岁提供了一个框架。

朱丽叶帕森内是一位斯坦福大学的高级研究者和医学教授,他强调了这种体温的下降趋势可能和人群中炎症的广泛减少和生活水平的提升有联系。

许多传染病在19世纪的时候很普遍,会引起长期的炎症,这反过来会燃烧卡路里以及加速人体新陈代谢率,使体内温度上升。

居住在舒适的室内也可能对人类造成深远的影响。不像我们的祖先,根据帕森内教授所说的那样,我们不必非常辛苦地工作,就可以在生理上不影响新陈代谢的中性温度下工作。这种转变意味着我们现在每天比以前要减少150卡路里就能维持我们基本的新陈代谢。

但为什么我们现在反而吃的更多呢?
(请阅此文章: 食物 – 身体毒素的新来源?)

人类对自然选择的影响没有免疫力。纵观整个人类的历史,我们面临的许多压力比如像病原体(细菌,病毒或者其他引起疾病的微生物),新冠病毒,并不是僵尸启示录,目前仍然存在并在今天仍然威胁着我们的健康。但是我们的环境已经急剧地发生了变化-而这一定会产生影响。

我们生活方式的改变,比如从游牧牧民到农民,从农民到工人,这样的转变经常会促使这些基因的适应性的变化。

约书亚是一位普林斯顿大学的教授,他强调了以下两个例子

  1. 最近的一个正向选择的例子是FSD2,一种重要的饮食基因。这种基因的不同版本适应于在不同的人群中,这取决于他们吃更多肉类还是植物类的饮食。在2016年,科学家们发现,在印度,几代人的素食饮食显示出这种基因的一种特殊突变,使人们能够有效地处理来自非肉类来源的ω-3和ω-6脂肪酸,将它们转化为对大脑健康至关重要的化合物。
  2. 同时,控制乳糖耐受性的基因也在增加。几千年前,帮助人们喝牛奶而不会得病的酶会在人们成年的时候消失。但是后来,在2000年前到20000年前之间在全世界涌现出来的基因突变帮助人们在成年后也对乳制品耐受。

我们的骨头正在变轻!

和其他原始人相比,人类的骨骼更加脆弱,密度也更低。在一份2015年的研究中,科学研究假设了智人的骨骼是在12000年前开始变得脆弱,因为在那个时候人们开始更多的农作。随着定居农业的发展,饮食结构发生了变化,体力活动也发生了变化,反过来,我们的骨骼就变得更轻,更脆弱。

2014的一份科学研究中也发现我们的骨架自农业发展起来之后就变得轻多了。他们认为体力活动的减少而不是饮食的变化导致了人类骨骼强度的退化。这样的趋势可能会持续。研究人员强调,我们现在比以前要运动的更少。

只是在刚过去的50100年中我们才如此危险地久坐不动,肖恩解释到,肖恩是剑桥大学的一位研究人员。坐在车里或者坐在桌子前并不是我们进化而来所要去做的事情。

人类有能力像猩猩一样强壮,肖恩和他的团队说到。但是我们并没有这么强壮是因为我们没有去挑战我们的骨骼。只有时间会告诉我们,我们的骨骼是否会再次进化使我们能够在未来提升他们的力量。

我们的身体将会发生进一步的变化。唯一的问题是什么来引领这个过程。人类是否还有时间和热情来成为自然进化过程中的一部分,抑或是我们需要像基因编辑这样的新技术来加速这个过程?

好事是我们并不知道所有事情。但是我们知道我们永远不会一成不变。